2019 NUSA Awards Application

Each year at Neighborhoods, USA's annual conference awards are given in the following categories:

Award Category
Application Link
Neighborhood of the Year


This award recognizes exceptional accomplishments by neighborhood organizations. Awards are given in three categories:
  • ♦ Physical Revitalization/Beautification in a Single Neighborhood
  • ♦ Social Revitalization/Neighborliness in a Single Neighborhood
  • ♦ Multi-Neighborhood Project Partnerships.
Judging will be based on the extent of innovation, grass-roots participation and capacity building exhibited by the nominated organization.


(For best results, open application form with Adobe Reader)



Best Neighborhood Program
This award recognizes outstanding programs implemented to improve neighborhoods by a governmental entity, business or corporation. Best Neighborhood Program Awards will be given in two categories:
  • ♦ Physical revitalization
  • ♦ Social revitalization
Neighborhood Newsletter Competition


This award acknowledges excellence in neighborhood newsletters — a vital communication tool that can often determine a neighborhood's success. The competition features 1st-, 2nd- and 3rd-place awards in two categories:
♦ PRINTED category

♦ ELECTRONIC category
Each entry will be evaluated by a jury panel using a list of criteria including content, lay-out, and overall appearance.
Who's Who in America's Neighborhoods


The Who’s Who in America’s Neighborhoods award was created to recognize those individuals whose work mirrors the mission of Neighborhoods, USA: to build and strengthen neighborhoods associations; to encourage neighborhood involvement in the decision-making process in local governments; and to promote productive communications and collaborations between neighborhood associations, local governments and the public/private sector.


Each Who’s Who in America’s Neighborhoods (WWAN) nominee are evaluated by the Neighborhoods, USA Board using the following criteria: the neighborhood involvement of nominee, information on how the nominee has proven to be a leader in the community and specific reasons why the nominee has earned the Who’s Who in America’s Neighborhoods recognition.


There are two categories for this award:

  • Governmental nominee – includes elected officials, local or state government staff and paid neighborhood advocates or community leaders for work within their local community.
  • Grassroots/Neighbor nominee – Includes non-paid neighborhood advocates and/or community leaders for work within their local community.
In order to be eligible for consideration, all applications must be postmarked
no later than February 1, 2019 and sent to:
2019 NUSA Awards
Attn: Catherine Huckaby- Community Engagement Office
818 Missouri Avenue (Hazel Harvey Peace Center)
Fort Worth, TX 76104
Please verify each application includes the application fee (if applicable). You may submit a check, enclosed with your application(s), to the above address or pay via PayPal. To pay via PayPal, submit your applications via mail as you would normally do, and indicate that you paid via PayPal with your submission. As your applications are received, staff will verify that we have received your payment through PayPal.

To pay via PayPal, select the fee that applies to the award application you are submitting and then click on the "Pay Now" button. You will then be taken to PayPal's secure site for payment processing.
Registration Fees
Announcement of awards will be made during the 2019 NUSA Conference to be held May 15-18, 2019 in Palm Springs, Calif..
For additional information or questions, call Catherine Huckaby (817.392.8085) or Hal Barnes (954.828.5065) or send an e-mail to the Awards Program Committee by CLICKING HERE.